TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 553,417 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

The View Keeps Me Coming Back

Posted by Marcie Van Houten on December 18, 2008


best-squirrel-shotI have a great view from my *home* office window of the walnut tree in my back yard. I watch squirrels chasing around and storing nuts. It’s a great visual lava lamp while I’m focusing on the conference call I’m on or working hard at getting a point across. But the best thing about this view is it keeps me coming back. Yes, I work with great people and I truly enjoy my job. But the fact that I have the flexibility to work from home most of the time with zero commute and only 5 minutes away from my 6 month old ranks way up there with things that keep me loyal to my company and my job.

I know how lucky I am, but it really surprises me when I hear someone say their company doesn’t allow telecommuting or allow for some flexibility. I think some organizations don’t understand how committed that employee is to the job because they know what a good thing they have and wouldn’t want to mess things up.

My team has some pretty fun ways of keeping connected when we’re not all sitting right next to each other. Of course there’s the phone, web conferencing and instant messaging. Those are the basic requirements of telecommuting. But what really gives a sense of team awareness are things like Twitter and Facebook and blogging. These really let me follow the mental processing of my coworkers. What are they thinking about when NOT in a meeting? What are they reading? What new ideas are inspiring them? And because they put those ideas, links and hooks into their posts, I can follow right along with them. Mental proximity can be much more intimate than physical proximity. And in many ways I feel much more connected to my peers now than when I sat in the next office over from them all day.

So, the next time someone asks if they can work remotely… make sure they’re Twittering.

4 Responses to “The View Keeps Me Coming Back”

  1. Meg Bear said

    seems you and I were both thinking about distance relationships recently Marcie. I 100% agree that twitter does really make things a whole lot better. Surprises me how important it has become so quickly in my world.

  2. Mike said

    So very true. So how do we capture the value for non-believers? Most of my friends think Twitter is a waste of time.

  3. Marcie Van Houten said

    It’s one of those things that until you do it, you can’t imagine its value. I was like that as well until I too gave in and started twittering. Now, I’m connected to co-workers, analysts, bloggers and even Santa (@noradsanta). It’s that one hook that brings someone in and hopefully keeps them coming back. Let’s see if Santa is up to the job.

  4. Mike said

    Here is a great Fast Company article on the topic – http://www.fastcompany.com/magazine/131/revolution-in-san-jose.html?page=0%2C0

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,143 other followers

