TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 577,609 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

Oddities, Hyperbole, & Eccentricity: 8 Things You Probably Didn’t Need to Know About Ken

Posted by Ken Klaus on July 18, 2008


The elder bloggers on TalentedApps, Meg, Mark & Amy (and by elder of course I mean wiser, more experienced and sophisticated!) suggested we younglings might like to participate in the “8 Things About” series begun back when the leaders of our great clan launched TalentedApps. Louise, the best looking and cleverest of the newbies was the first to complete this assignment, so I’ll try not to disappoint.

  1. I’m an army brat. I was born at the army hospital in Heidelberg, Germany and, like Meg, I moved around quite a bit when I was a boy (Meg and I share the bit about moving, rather than the boy bit – she’s a girl, full of sugar and spice and everything nice) – though she beats me hands down on the number of schools she attended!
  2. I have a fraternal twin brother; but please don’t mention this to my mother who swears we’re identical. He of the olive complexion, straight black hair, and athletic build and me, the pudgy, pasty, bookworm. I wonder if he’s still angry with me for calling him “gypsy boy” when we were growing up?
  3. I really, really dislike cold weather. After finishing graduate school in Boston I moved to California and vowed to never again live in a city where the local weather person used words like snow, sleet, freezing rain, or frostbite. Never. Ever. Again.
  4. I’m mostly a vegetarian. It started back in 1992, when I went home to Germany to visit my family. (Did I mention my father met my mother while he was stationed in Germany and that my mother has nine brothers and sisters and I have a gazillion cousins?). Anyway, after spending five weeks eating (and loving) bratwurst, knackwurst, liverwurst, Braunschweiger, and sauerkraut, I decided to make a few changes. Fifteen years later and I’ve given up most meat products, though I’m still eating fish, mostly because of item #3 – moving to California, where I was introduced to Sushi – which is like crack, only good for you!
  5. I was an extra in the movie Great Balls of Fire. We spent all day shooting a scene that took up less than five minutes in the actual movie; but dressing up in penny loafers, Levi’s with the cuffs rolled-up, an argyle sweater vest and then watching Dennis Quaid light that piano on fire was totally worth it!
  6. I bought my VW Jetta in 2003 and it still has less than 12,000 miles. I’m fortunate to live about four miles from work; but the truth is I hate driving. It could be that all the years I lived and drove in Los Angeles and here in the Bay Area have tainted my feelings on this subject; but I start to feel really agitated whenever I hear certain phrases, like: the 405, the 101, the 238 interchange, the San Mateo Bridge, police action or Friday lite.
  7. I spend way too much time and money on video games, which has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I’m single. Absolutely none! My favorite games include Myst, Half Life, Oblivion and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. BTW: Linking these sites to my blog is really about attribution, as any good writer would do, and not about driving up our hit rate!
  8. My current favorite guilty pleasures include Punk Rock HR and Coffee Heath Bar Crunch. Nothing blows the gray clouds away faster than a great blog and your favorite pint of ice cream! Thanks Laurie, Ben and Jerry!

Well now you’ve gone and wasted at least ten minutes of your day, when you could have been doing something truly engaging and productive. So don’t be like me; learn from your mistakes and make a commitment not to spend any more of your valuable work time reading blogs! =) Happy Friday!


 

7 Responses to “Oddities, Hyperbole, & Eccentricity: 8 Things You Probably Didn’t Need to Know About Ken”

  1. Kathi Chenoweth said

    Ken if you didn’t already have a twin I’d say you must be my long-lost twin.

    I also hate driving – my ’04 Jeep has a whopping 22,000 miles on it but I live in the suburbs…so… I think I hate the driving because of the whole getting-lost factor.

    While I’m not a vegetarian I was turned off meat for a spell after spending 18 months in Munich eating far too many wienierschnitzels. (thank goodness for the beer)

    I’m fascinated by your movie credit! I will have to watch that one again.

    I’m still working on my ‘8 things’…so far I can only think of seven but maybe something interesting will happen to me this weekend.😉

  2. Ken Klaus said

    Kathi, it seems you and I find new things in common nearly every time we chat! =) We’re anti-social, anti-driving, morning people who enjoy a good beer with friends or better still sitting alone on our deck! You may have a hard time finding me in Great Balls of Fire, as the scene was shot in large auditorium, but if you do spot me promise you won’t send out any photos! Shutterbugs are another thing I could totally live without! Cheers, -Ken

  3. Meg Bear said

    I was in Germany in 1992! I, of course, left still eating meat though😉. I hate to break it to you, but there is nothing in the word “pudgy” that makes me believe it could have anything to do with you, ever — I’m going to need to see photo proof I think.

  4. Ken Klaus said

    Meg, sorry to report that all of “those” pictures have long since disappeared and if there’s any kindness left in the universe they will never see the light of day again! =) I would totally love to hear about your trip to Germany!

  5. Laurie said

    Aw shucks, dude. I just saw this in Twitter and in my RSS reader. You make me blush.😉

  6. […] Talented Apps (& Ken Klaus) thinks of me a guilty pleasure. […]

  7. Mike Teer said

    Ken – you must get a Wii! We’ve actually worked up a sweat in front of the television (it’s better in hi def) pretending to bowl. It’s engaging, occasionally frustrating, competitive, and because it involves other people, a chance to not be single.

Leave a Reply

 
