TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 577,469 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

What is your legacy?

Posted by Amy Wilson on October 23, 2008


I went to a memorial service at work today. The planning team did a wonderful job of transforming a conference room auditorium and conference call into an intimate, touching gathering. It was a tribute to this man’s leadership and impact on the company, his employees, and colleagues. Each of the speakers was touched by the person he was and the care he provided them. He was remembered for being calm, optimistic, articulate, and passionate for life.

To be honest, I was skeptical about participating in a service at work: the awkward, overly professional work references, the large work banners looming over, the sense of formality. Boy, was I wrong. I am inspired by this man, his leadership, and his many followers. I will try my best to achieve such a legacy.

2 Responses to “What is your legacy?”

  1. Meg Bear said

    Make no mistake Amy, you go tomorrow and I am SOO sharing the “accidentially ended up in a cab” story. Yes this is Meg attempting to deflect real emotion toward humor. What can I say, the story is just a bit hard for me to cope with. Thanks for posting.

  2. Vivian Wong said

    Too often we don’t take the time to tell people how wonderful they are till they are gone – I hope this man rest in peace knowing how he had touched and influenced others. This post reminded me that I need to work and live my life as I’d like to be remembered. Thanks for sharing Amy!

Leave a Reply

 
