TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 577,566 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

No Spitting in Trash Cans

Posted by Amy Wilson on October 24, 2008


Yep, that’s what the sign said. As soon as I saw it, I knew I was where I wanted to be.

I find that vacations are good for revelations. My recent trip to Turkey proved no different. It came as no surprise to my husband, when I announced, during our 6am balloon ride over Capadoccia, “I want to learn how to box!”

I feel like a sheltered, middle-class mom when I say I got the idea from a book. But, it’s mostly true. The book being “The Power of One” (recommended to me by my friend Meg, whom I accidentally ditched at a party once). A must-read, particularly for those who, like myself, adore prison movies like The Shawshank Redemption. But I digress.

Anyway, it’s mostly true. But, the idea was planted by another friend of mine a few months earlier who suggested I get my “fight on.” I’ve also been yearning for something outside of my comfort zone. Really outside of my comfort zone. The east oakland boxing gym with zero tolerance for trash can spitting is the perfect spot.

There was another sign at the gym – slightly more talent-related. The 4 C’s of boxing:

Conditioning
Concentration
Coachability
= Champion

I stared at this sign while I got my ass kicked jumping rope, not only establishing how out of shape I am but also confirming that I have absolutely no rhythm. But I’m learning. And, I’m going back. I’ve got a growth mindset.

7 Responses to “No Spitting in Trash Cans”

  1. Floyd said

    Amy, I have a few boxing trophies earned when I was much younger and in much better shape. The best advice in life I ever received came from my boxing coach: “Chappie, keep your hands up and your rear off the canvas.” Best of luck with your new adventure!

  2. Amy Wilson said

    Did he mention not tripping on your jump rope or give you a heads up that the “ball” they throw at your abs actually weighs 15 lbs??
    Thanks Floyd – I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Jake said

    Hands up, chin down, circle away.
    You may find that roping is a welcome alternative to beating a heavy bag, or actually getting popped in the head.

  4. Meg Bear said

    I had a trainer get me started on Kick Boxing a few (several) years back. As a naturally cautious person physically (read wimp) I was shocked at how much fun I had hitting things. You are really going to love this, I’m so proud of you. Remind me to stay on your good side now.

  5. Ariel Ceballos said

    “First with the head, then with the heart” (my personal take away from the book)

    Good luck Amy!

  6. wow boxing, I’m impressed. I referee my kids fights, if that counts for anything.

    Good luck

  7. Amy Wilson said

    @david Oh, I’ve refereed your kids fights – it definitely counts🙂
    @ariel Ahh, you’re a fan too! Thanks!
    @jake Remind me not to meet you in a dark alley.
    @meg I am enjoying the visual. When do you start up again?

Leave a Reply

 
