TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 577,537 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

In loving Memory

Posted by Meg Bear on December 31, 2008


john2 John William Groth

July 17, 1944 – Dec 29, 2008

Not a blog post about Talent or Social Media, so thanks for your patience.  Instead I’m writing a words in memory of my father’s only brother.

My uncle was a proud Marine, a 35-year member of the Retail Clerks union and recently served on the board of directors for his local water district.  He was also genetically predisposed to a heart condition, suffered a recent stroke and was a committed  smoker for several decades.

This is the third family member I have lost early, aided by a nicotine addiction.  I would like to appeal to anyone else I care about, to seriously consider giving up smoking.   I know it’s your right, I know it’s your body and I really do know it’s addictive.  It’s not an easy thing to stop doing, but I’m convinced it’s a very fast way to cut your life expectancy by at least 15 years. 

Believe it or not, my general social agenda is to mind my own business, and I promise to get back to that ASAP, but writing and printing obituaries really sucks.   Try to think about my needs for a minute and consider a lifestyle choice that is less predictable.

Happy New Year everyone, hug your family and count your blessings.  Wishing you all health and happiness in 2009 and sending love to my Aunt and Cousin who are going to miss John immensely.

4 Responses to “In loving Memory”

  1. GretchenA said

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is to go through something like this – and how it hits at unexpected times. Sending love to you and your family.

  2. I’m very sorry your uncle passed away. I wish your family solace and comfort in the memory of a good man who served his country and community well.

  3. I am sorry to hear about the loss of your uncle. May the departed soul rest in peace. Please accept my condolences and be strong.

  4. Meg Bear said

    Thanks to all for the nice comments here, on twitter and facebook. Very kind and appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
