TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 618,950 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

Top Chef Potential

Posted by Amy Wilson on April 3, 2008


chef.jpg This Tuesday marked the 12th anniversary of getting fooled by my husband.  Since we consider it a sort of anniversary, Paul surprised me with a gourmet dinner of Filet Mignon, Lobster, asparagus and home-made twice baked potatoes.  No fooling!  Hmm, yummy. 

Since I’ve been thinking a lot about potential lately, it got me remembering old chef Paul.  When we first met, I would never have picked him as a future chef.  Sure, he cooked a lot.  He made ramen noodles, he burnt chicken stir fry, he made these really weird tacos.  But 95% of it was terrible!  In fact, at one point I declared that we would only eat cereal for dinner. 

Then something interesting happened.  Paul’s aspirations joined together with opportunity (stay-at-home dad), tools (good pots and pans, gadgets, and cooking shows), and constructive feedback (me!) and he’s really fabulous!  Now those weird tacos have transformed into a unique delicacy that could be served at the finest mexican-asian fusion restaurant.  His signature dishes blend hearty favorites with innovative ingredients. 

I never thought I’d say it, but the kid’s got potential!  

5 Responses to “Top Chef Potential”

  1. nancy schwartz aka:mom said

    greetings amy (and paul)!!!
    nice blog!!! if i remember correctly the first thing Scott said about paul was that he had potential!!!although i believe it was in regards to golf—-
    way to go chef!!!and malcolm really likes his mac n’ cheese from the box!!!!

  2. Jean Wilson (Paul's mother-in-law) said

    I have to agree with Amy. I have always been a decent cook; but Paul is now my role model. I made some Moroccan chicken this week — my husband said,”Yummy, this tastes like something Paul would make!”

  3. Kathi Chenoweth said

    Oh dear, don’t let my husband read this! He’s the chef and always has been. I want it to stay that way. I hate cooking.

    I rely on the well-known fact that I have NO POTENTIAL to learn how to cook. As my stepson says “you don’t know how to work the kitchen, do you”? This was as I tried to heat up some frozen pizza rolls and couldn’t figure out how to turn on the oven (six months after we moved to our house).

    I don’t want anyone in my family getting the notion that I have the ability to learn to cook….

    And I still am waiting to hear the April Fools’ story. 😉

  4. Meg Bear said

    I’ve had the opportunity to benefit from Paul’s work and I have to agree. I also have no potential in the kitchen and have managed to find Nanny’s who are chefs. Good cooks rule!

  5. […] the details, but April 1, 1996 (when Kentucky beat Syracuse in the NCAA championship game) is our non-wedding anniversary. And, for the last 13 years I have lived in fear of what his next April Fool’s plan could be […]

Leave a comment