TalentedApps

We put the Talent in Applications

  • Authors

  • Blog Stats

    • 618,910 hits
  • Topics

  • Archives

  • Fistful of Talent Top Talent Management blogs
    Alltop, all the top stories

A case for goal setting

Posted by Meg Bear on January 25, 2008


littleenginethatcould.jpgBefore January is over I wanted to make a case for Goal setting and encourage you to consider taking a moment to invest in yourself in the new year.  Personally, I’ve never been a fan of new year resolutions but goal setting makes sense to me.  Goals are targets you give yourself, which by definition show a commitment and a belief in your abilities.  In fact, I think Lululemon has it right in their mainifesto where they say

Write down your short and long-term GOALS four times a year. Two personal, two business and two health goals for the next 2, 5 and 10 years. Goal setting triggers your subconscious computer.

It’s possible that setting goals is just wasting your time.  It’s possible that  you are not disciplined enough to follow through.  But it also just might be possible that, by virtue of writing down your goals you will remind yourself of what is really important and will take action to focus some effort on those things that really matter. 

Sure, there is a corporate benefit to aligning and cascading goals which I also believe in, but I think the benefits for ourselves is not to be ignored.  So, take a moment and set some goals before January is done.  I think you can!

6 Responses to “A case for goal setting”

  1. Mike King said

    Thanks for the post! You have some great tips to encourage readers to do goal setting. I know that goals are extremely powerful and that there are unfortunately a lot of failures in people’s goal setting which I believe is from setting the wrong goals. So, I have just started a 4 part series on goal setting and I explore in detail had to set appropriate goals (and find out how to determine them) and then execute them! I think they would be very helpful to any readers here interested in more help about goal setting.

    http://mikeking.ethereal3d.com/2008/01/goal-setting-introduction/

  2. […] speculating possibilities or outcomes you can’t control. You are highly focused on specific goals or tasks and find meaning in life by pursuing those goals. You prefer a structured environment […]

  3. […] serious goal setting in kinder.  It was like I had died and gone to heaven.   It’s well covered territory how passionate I am about goals, but I have to say that I had never thought about how they apply to […]

  4. Ive been working on some articles about goal setting at . Let me know what you think. :

  5. Dexter said

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog. He used
    to be entirely right. This publish actually made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

    • Meg Bear said

      Thanks for reading and also to your brother for the reco! I had forgotten about this post but it’s a good reminder in the new year for certain!.

      -M

Leave a comment